My Beauty Must-Haves: Makeup Geek Eyeshadows

button-mug I’ve only had my Makeup Geek eyeshadows for a few days, but oh my gosh, are they amazing. If you’re into watching Youtube beauty videos, you may be familiar with Makeup Geek, but if not, this brand may be news to you. Regardless, everyone (seriously, everyone) needs Makeup Geek eyeshadows in their beauty collection. I’ve never felt more passionate about a product than I have about about these shadows.

Makeup Geek’s founder Marlena started out as a beauty vlogger on Youtube. Since joining Youtube six years ago, Marlena’s page now has over a million loyal subscribers. Thanks to her Youtube success, Marlena launched her own makeup line, called ‘Makeup Geek,’ which has received tons of recognition.

Makeup Geek’s eyeshadows are definitely the stand-out product in her entire line. Every beauty vlogger on Youtube who uses these eyeshadows describes them as the best M.A.C. eyeshadow dupes on the planet. They’ve even been called better than M.A.C. And to top it, they’re more than half the price of M.A.C. shadows (each pan is $5.99). Insane, right! SWATCH-2-combinedb I’ve heard and seen how great Makeup Geek eyeshadows appear on Youtube, but I was excited to finally get my hands on them. Currently, Makeup Geek products are only sold online, but the first pop-up shop is opening in Sacramento later this year. These eyeshadows are known for being insanely pigmented, smooth and creamy. I had high expectations, and boy, were they exceeded.

I’m into natural, neutral colors for my eyeshadow. So I did my research, and bought five warm shades I’ve heard raving reviews about. I currently own Shimma Shimma, Peach Smoothie, Creme Brûlée, Frappe and Cosmopolitan. As soon as they came in the mail, I ripped them out of their packaging and swatched them on my hand. My first thought: WOW. The Youtubers I’ve been watching hadn’t been lying–with just one swipe, there was so much pigmented color on the back of my hand. Each eyeshadow is so buttery and blends beautifully. Even a makeup novice could easily master a basic natural smokey eye with these Makeup Geek eyeshadows.

The other two products I got from Makeup Geek are the foiled eyeshadows. I got them in the shades In The Spotlight and Grandstand. With a new, unique foiled formula, Marlena released ten colors with a metallic and opaque finish that is to die for. These ones cost slightly more than the regular eyeshadows  (they’re $9.99) but are worth it. They’re still significantly less expensive than high-end eyeshadows, and are probably better than most. I still can’t believe how creamy and beautiful these foiled shadows are when I swatch them. After purchasing just two, I’m already convinced I need to add more to my collection. Foiled-ES_Swatches-1_New Makeup Geek is pretty new, but has already established itself as a top-notch makeup line. These eyeshadows are perfect for the everyday woman who doesn’t want to splurge on uber-expensive makeup. For a drugstore price, you will truly get high-end makeup quality from Makeup Geek.

Follow Kaitlyn on Twitter and Instagram

Leave a Reply

